Uncategorized

Sooo…

…first post! Hopefully I’ll have something interesting to write about, seeing as I’m writing this on the spot, and I still haven’t the foggiest as to what this blog is even going to be about.
I mean, yes, it is going to be mostly about “writing,” but knowing me, it’ll be less a guide on writing, and more me complaining about writing. And I don’t just wanna write about writing, either, I wanna talk about other things. …So, yeah. Theme’s still very much up in the air.

It’s still pretty much the start of October, except it doesn’t feel like spring at all here (more like a second winter), and we’ve just had daylight savings (for some archaic reason, the powers that be insist that we all move the clocks an hour forward, losing an hour of night-time/sleep in the process), and I’ve just come off a few health issues, and term four of school started yesterday. So I’ve been ridiculously exhausted, which means I’m everything but motivated right now. Writing? Who has time for writing? Not when my eyelids begin shutting themselves involuntarily every time I sit down for more than five minutes.

I’m actually planning on doing NaNoWriMo this year, so I’d better catch up on sleep sooner rather than later. Since I’ve got to have the entire story, plot, characters, anecdotes, themes, symbols, etc., etc., etc. all planned before November 1st. Not to say I haven’t even made a start on any of that, though. Because I have, except… not as much as I would have liked by this point. I found this nifty little thing called the Snowflake Method over the holidays; I gave that a shot, am still deep in the third step, however. Otherwise, it’s a solid DIY plotting method. I’m not planning on following it religiously, but it should work fine if you have a simple idea and want to fan it out into a rich story. For me, I’ve kind of planned most of my story in my head already – like I said before, all I need to do is just get the ideas out of my head and onto something tactile – so I don’t really need to snowflake it. But it’s still early days, there’s no telling if I’ll change my mind or not.

Regardless of how I choose to go about (properly) making a plan, the fact remains that a proper plan still has to be made. It is going to be a fun project, though.

I mean, writing 50K words in a single month!

(And maybe even more if I’m that dedicated!)

Leave a Reply

